Author Interview -Angela Myron!

Published July 27, 2015 by Bella

I have had this incredible opportunity to talk with author Angela Myron! Angela Myron’s book Ennara and the Fallen Druid is being promoted by Wattpad and the hit Nickelodeon show, Every Witch Way. Her book has also won a siilver medal for best pre-teen ebook at the Moonbeam Children’s book awards. Click this link to read Ennara and the Fallen Druid on Wattpad Though I have yet to read her book, I will definitely read it soon!

Interview

How did you get your inspiration for your book?
Toni Morrison famously said, “If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.”

I think that was the main reason I began to write Ennara’s story. I wanted a rich, magical fantasy adventure with a female hero. I was missing home (Southern British Columbia, the interior where they grow lots of apples) and was (still am) deeply concerned about the way we, as a species, treat our planet. So, Ennara’s adventures began in a far future world that has undergone a massive extinction event, just south of where I grew up on the border of Washington and Idaho.

Who was your favorite character?

Oddly enough, my favorite characters have turned out to be Ennara’s friends. Maybe because there’s less pressure on them, they have the ability to just be kids–joke around, be impulsive, have fun and make mistakes. Tork the wizard started out as a favorite, but was quickly replaced by Kithe and Smoos, the giant marine cat.

Did you base any of the character’s actions or personalities on someone you know/knew? If yes who?
When you start out writing a character, definitely, you base a lot of what they do, say, and feel on other people you know, even your own experience or thoughts. I pinned photos of actors I thought might look like the people in the book. But eventually, as I got to know each character, they became individuals. Different from anyone else I knew. I mean, how many eleven year-old necromancers do you know?

When did you first start working on your book?

I started writing the first Ennara book, I was on maternity leave with my twins. They were four months old. It took me a year and a half to write, revise, and edit the book, and that was herculean effort while taking care of twin babies. I’m kind of amazed it actually turned into a story. My kids are almost four now, and it still takes me a year and a half to write a story!

Is there anything else that you want to share?

Thanks so much for the interview, Bella. It was a pleasure to meet and talk to you and your readers.
This July, Ennara and the Fallen Druid is being promoted on Wattpad as a favorite magical read by Nickelodeon’s Every Witch Way show. Hop on over to Wattpad to read it!

Don’t forget to check out her award-winning book on wattpad!

Leave a Reply

